Our database holds six Portugal programmes. Four are English-taught bachelors in economics and management at Nova SBE (Carcavelos) and ISEG (Lisbon). Two are integrated master's degrees in veterinary medicine at Egas Moniz (Caparica) and Escola Universitária Vasco da Gama in Coimbra. The Nova SBE fee is EUR 697 per year (2026/27) for Portuguese and EU students. Every programme row is marked "Partly verified", so each section says what is not confirmed.
How an Irish student gets in
We found no Leaving Cert grade table for any of the six programmes. Both business schools say the Leaving Cert is converted to the Portuguese 0-200 scale using the table in Portaria 699/2006, and neither publishes an Irish grade threshold. Check the university's admissions page before you apply (links in Sources).
Nova SBE (Economics, Management). Entry is through the national competition. The application grade must be at least 135 out of 200. Entry exams, or equivalent foreign exams substituted through DGES, need a minimum of 9.5. The subject requirement is Mathematics A (50%), or Mathematics A (30%) plus one of Portuguese, Physics and Chemistry, Economics, Geography, English or Philosophy (20%).
ISEG (Economics, Management). The minimum application grade is 100 out of 200, with at least 95 points in entry exams. The subject is Mathematics A, optionally with Portuguese, Economics, Physics and Chemistry, Geography, English or Biology and Geology. ISEG says some international qualifications can be automatically recognised. It does not say whether that covers the Leaving Cert.
Veterinary medicine. Vasco da Gama requires Biologia e Geologia (exam 02) plus one of Physics and Chemistry, Mathematics, Portuguese, Philosophy or English, through Portuguese national secondary exams. Egas Moniz says the exams are fixed for the programme but our data does not list the subjects. Both ask for a "Group A" pre-requisite form (a medical declaration at Egas Moniz, an interpersonal communication form at Vasco da Gama). Egas Moniz also requires an Article 20-A request.
Documents (all six). The rows list a foreign secondary diploma with the final grade, the foreign exam results with dates, a certificate of equivalence to Portuguese secondary education with the grade converted to 0-200, and apostille or authentication. Nova SBE and ISEG add an official translation unless the document is in English, French or Spanish. Vasco da Gama applications go through Inforestudante.
English proof, interviews and entrance tests beyond the exams above are not in our data for these programmes.
What it costs
- Nova SBE, Economics and Management: EUR 697 per year for Portuguese and EU students (2026/2027), plus EUR 37.6 administrative/insurance fee.
- ISEG, Economics and Management: EUR 697 per year (EU students; academic year not stated on the programme page).
- Vasco da Gama, Veterinary Medicine: EUR 8,700 per year (2026/27; also EUR 8,700 for international students), plus candidature EUR 350 and matricula EUR 700.
- Egas Moniz, Veterinary Medicine: EUR 1,011.15 per month for 12 months (= EUR 12,133.80 per year). The academic year is not stated on the page.
Accommodation. ISEG publishes a living-cost estimate for Lisbon of EUR 600-700 per month. This is a university figure, but it is an estimate of monthly expenses, not a halls price. No academic year is stated. We have no accommodation figure for Carcavelos, Caparica or Coimbra.
Deadlines
The latest published cycle is 2026/27 (DGES). The 2027 calendar is not published for either business school.
- First phase, candidates substituting entry exams with foreign exams: 20-29 July 2026.
- First phase, other candidates: 20 July to 6 August 2026.
No deadline is in our data for the two veterinary programmes.
Health courses
Our database has no medicine, dentistry or nursing rows for Portugal. The two health rows are veterinary medicine. A dash means our data holds no figure.
| University | Programme | Language | Fee | Deadline | Entrance exam |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Escola Universitária Vasco da Gama, Coimbra | Integrated Master in Veterinary Medicine (5.5 years) | Portuguese, English, French (English-taught track not separately described) | EUR 8,700 per year (2026/27) | – | Portuguese national secondary exams |
| Egas Moniz, Caparica | Integrated Master in Veterinary Medicine (6 years) | English | EUR 1,011.15 per month for 12 months (EUR 12,133.80 per year); year not stated | – | National secondary exams or equivalent foreign exams (Article 20-A) |
Other courses
| University | Programme | Language | Fee | Deadline | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nova SBE, Carcavelos | Bachelor in Economics (3 years) | English (first year: English or mixed English/Portuguese track) | EUR 697 per year (2026/2027) plus EUR 37.6 | 2026/27 cycle: 20 Jul-6 Aug 2026 | Partly verified |
| Nova SBE, Carcavelos | Bachelor in Management (3 years) | English (first year: English or mixed English/Portuguese track) | EUR 697 per year (2026/2027) plus EUR 37.6 | 2026/27 cycle: 20 Jul-6 Aug 2026 | Partly verified |
| ISEG, Lisbon | Bachelor in Economics (3 years) | English | EUR 697 per year (year not stated) | 2026/27 cycle: 20 Jul-6 Aug 2026 | Partly verified |
| ISEG, Lisbon | Bachelor in Management (3 years) | English | EUR 697 per year (year not stated) | 2026/27 cycle: 20 Jul-6 Aug 2026 | Partly verified |
Things that catch Irish students out
- The 0-200 conversion. You need a certificate of equivalence with your grade converted to the 0-200 scale. Nova SBE and ISEG set different floors (135 and 100), and neither publishes what a Leaving Cert result converts to.
- Foreign exams. Entry exams can be substituted with foreign exams through DGES. That route had its own first-phase window (20-29 July 2026), which closed eight days before the general window (6 August 2026).
- Apostille and translation. Documents must be apostilled or authenticated. English-language documents do not need an official translation at Nova SBE or ISEG.
- Monthly versus yearly fees. Egas Moniz publishes its veterinary fee per month for 12 months, with no academic year.
- Calendars. Neither Nova SBE nor ISEG has published 2027 dates, so the 2026/27 dates are a guide only. Nova SBE also has not published 2027 vacancies.
FAQ
Does Portugal publish a Leaving Cert grade rule?
Not in our data. Nova SBE requires an application grade of at least 135 out of 200 and ISEG at least 100 out of 200, after conversion under Portaria 699/2006. Neither publishes a Leaving Cert threshold. Check the university's admissions page.
How much are fees at Nova SBE and ISEG?
Nova SBE lists EUR 697 per year for Portuguese and EU students for 2026/2027, plus EUR 37.6 administrative and insurance fee. ISEG lists EUR 697 per year for EU students and does not state the academic year.
Which Portuguese courses are in English?
In our database, the Economics and Management bachelors at Nova SBE and ISEG are taught in English. At Nova SBE the first year is an English or mixed English/Portuguese track. Egas Moniz lists veterinary medicine in English.
What documents do I need?
The rows list your secondary diploma with final grade, foreign exam results, a certificate of equivalence with a 0-200 grade, and apostille or authentication. Nova SBE and ISEG require an official translation unless the document is in English, French or Spanish.
When do I apply?
The latest published dates are for 2026/27: 20-29 July 2026 for foreign-exam candidates and 20 July to 6 August 2026 for others. The 2027 calendar is not published. Check the DGES calendar page.
Sources
Nova SBE
- https://www.novasbe.unl.pt/en/programs/apply/bachelors/national-call
- https://www.novasbe.unl.pt/en/programs/bachelors/economics/program
- https://www.novasbe.unl.pt/en/programs/bachelors/management/program
ISEG
- https://www.iseg.ulisboa.pt/en/study/undergraduate/economics/
- https://www.iseg.ulisboa.pt/en/study/undergraduate/management
- https://www.iseg.ulisboa.pt/en/live-iseg/living-in-lisbon/
DGES (used by Nova SBE and ISEG rows)
- https://www.dges.gov.pt/pt/pagina/substituicao-de-provas-de-ingresso-por-exames-estrangeiros
- https://www.dges.gov.pt/pt/pagina/calendario-concurso-nacional-de-acesso-0
Escola Universitária Vasco da Gama
- https://www.euvg.pt/propinas-e-emolumentos/
- https://www.euvg.pt/curso/mestrado-integrado-em-medicina-veterinaria/
- https://www.euvg.pt/internacional/
- https://www.euvg.pt/vida-na-euvg/?tab=1
Egas Moniz
- https://www.egasmoniz.com.pt/en/learn/integrated-master-s-programs/veterinary-medicine
- https://www.egasmoniz.com.pt/en/admissions/foreign-high-school-education-eu-member-state-what-do-you-need-to-apply
Details can change. Check the official page before you apply.
Courses in our database (0)
No courses match those filters.