Our database has 23 English-language programmes in Malta: 13 health programmes and 10 other bachelors. Most are at the University of Malta (UM), with one medicine degree at Queen Mary University of London (QMUL) Malta and one nursing degree at MCAST. UM publishes a Leaving Certificate rule for Irish applicants. UM's pages say no fees apply for local and EU/EEA applicants on the courses where a fee is shown. QMUL Malta medicine costs EUR 39,500 per year.
How an Irish student gets in
University of Malta. UM accepts the Irish Leaving Certificate as comparable to the Maltese Matriculation Certificate. The general entry rule is 6 Higher Level passes, including 2 at H2, 2 at H3 and 2 at H6, with Higher Level passes in a language, a science and a humanistic subject. Irish applicants apply online as applicants with overseas qualifications. Each course adds its own subject requirements. H2 counts as Advanced Matriculation grade C, H4 as grade D, and H6 as Intermediate grade C.
- Medicine (MD): 6 Higher Level passes, with H1 in Biology and H1 in Chemistry and 4 passes at H2 or better. The H1 passes and one H2 must come from one sitting and one examining board. Irish Leaving Cert applicants must also sit the Entrance Examination for Admission to Year 1. Its format, date and fee are not stated on the pages we reviewed.
- Dental surgery: 6 Higher Level passes, with H1 in Biology and H1 in Chemistry, and H2 in Physics and three other subjects, all in one sitting from one board.
- Pharmaceutical Science: H2 Chemistry and Mathematics at H6 or better.
- Other bachelors: subjects vary by course, for example Pure Mathematics and Physics for engineering, or Biology and Chemistry for the Biology degree. See the table and the course pages.
Maltese language for medicine and dental surgery. Non-Maltese applicants must hold the Medical Maltese Proficiency Certificate from UM, or pass the Medical Maltese unit of the Certificate in Foundation Studies, before the course starts. Applicants with overseas qualifications and a SEC Maltese pass at grade 5 or better are exempt. A non-Maltese applicant may offer another language approved by the Admissions Board, which cannot be English.
English proof at UM. Medicine and dental surgery accept a valid Secure English Language Test (SELT), or an Ordinary Level pass at grade 4 or better in Leaving Cert English may be accepted in lieu. For the other bachelors, nationals of Ireland who completed their secondary certificate in Ireland may be exempted from a SELT.
QMUL Malta (medicine MBBS, Gozo). Higher Level H1, H1, H2, H2, H2 in five subjects, including H1 in Chemistry or Biology and a second science. UCAT is required, plus an online panel interview on Teams. English: GCSE English Language, or IELTS 7.0 overall within two years.
MCAST (nursing). No Leaving Cert rule is published. Interviews are required (a preliminary interview for international applicants and a values-based interview). You need an occupational health screening certificate and a clean police conduct certificate. The English level is not stated on the programme page.
What it costs
- UM: the course pages for Pharmaceutical Science and the 10 other bachelors say no fees apply for Local/EU/EEA applicants (2026/27 course pages). Non-EU fees are EUR 26,000 per year for medicine and EUR 10,800 for Pharmaceutical Science. The EU/EEA fee for medicine could not be retrieved from the page. Overseas-qualification applicants pay a processing fee of EUR 100 until the first deadline, or EUR 200 for late applications.
- QMUL Malta: EUR 39,500 per year for students starting September 2027, the same for UK, EU and international students. Pay in full or 50% before enrolment.
- MCAST nursing: no fees for Maltese and other EU nationals.
Accommodation (none is a university price). UM's living-costs guide gives shared accommodation at EUR 550 to 700 per month and single accommodation at EUR 800 to 1,600 per month; the basis for the shared figure is not confirmed. Campus Hub is on campus but run by a third party. Its 2026/27 rates cover 19 September 2026 to 26 June 2027, plus a mandatory EUR 150 booking fee and an eco contribution:
- Twin room, shared bathroom: EUR 5,880. Twin room, ensuite: EUR 6,440.
- Single room, shared bathroom: EUR 7,560. Single room, ensuite: EUR 8,680.
- Shared apartment: single EUR 8,680, twin EUR 6,440.
- Studio apartment: EUR 12,040.
We found no housing price for MCAST or QMUL Malta.
Deadlines
- QMUL Malta medicine: first deadline 1 March 2027 for September 2027 entry.
- UM, 2026 intake (the latest published): UM bachelors: applications closed 22 July 2026 at 2pm, late applications 15 September 2026 at 2pm. Medicine: overseas-qualification closing date was 30 January 2026 at 2pm. Dental surgery: the date published was 16 March 2026 at 2pm, for applicants relying on the Medical Maltese Proficiency Certificate. No 2027 dates are published yet. Medicine applications open from the previous November.
- MCAST: no deadline in our data.
Health courses
| University | Programme | Language | Fee | Deadline | Entrance exam |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| QMUL Malta | Medicine MBBS (5 yrs) | English | EUR 39,500/yr (Sept 2027) | 1 Mar 2027 | UCAT |
| UM | Doctor of Medicine and Surgery (5 yrs) | English | EU/EEA fee not retrievable | 2027 not published | Entrance Examination (format not stated) |
| UM | Master of Dental Surgery (5 yrs) | English | Not in data | 2027 not published | Not in data |
| UM | BSc (Hons) Pharmaceutical Science (4 yrs; partly verified) | English | No fees (Local/EU/EEA, 2026/27) | 2027 not published | None published |
| UM | BSc (Hons) Nursing (3 yrs) | Not stated | Not in data | 2026 intake: 22 Jul, late 15 Sep 2026 | Not in data |
| UM | BSc (Hons) Midwifery (4 yrs) | Not stated | Not in data | 2026 intake: 22 Jul, late 15 Sep 2026 | Not in data |
| UM | BSc (Hons) Physiotherapy (4 yrs) | Not stated | Not in data | 2026 intake: 22 Jul, late 15 Sep 2026 | Not in data |
| UM | BSc (Hons) Occupational Therapy (4 yrs) | Not stated | Not in data | 2026 intake: 22 Jul, late 15 Sep 2026 | Not in data |
| UM | BSc (Hons) Radiography (4 yrs) | Not stated | Not in data | 2026 intake: 22 Jul, late 15 Sep 2026 | Not in data |
| UM | BSc (Hons) Podiatry (4 yrs) | Not stated | Not in data | 2026 intake: 22 Jul, late 15 Sep 2026 | Not in data |
| UM | BSc (Hons) Speech Language Pathology (4 yrs) | Not stated | Not in data | 2026 intake: 22 Jul, late 15 Sep 2026 | Not in data |
| UM | BSc (Hons) Applied Biomedical Science (4 yrs) | Not stated | Not in data | 2026 intake: 22 Jul, late 15 Sep 2026 | Not in data |
| MCAST (partly verified) | BSc (Hons) Nursing (3 yrs) | English | No fees for EU nationals | Not in data | None; interviews |
For the eight UM bachelors with "Not in data", our database holds only the 2026 dates. Check each course page for entry rules and fees.
Other courses
All are University of Malta, Msida, taught in English, partly verified. Each lists no fees for Local/EU/EEA applicants on its 2026/27 course page. The 2027 course pages and dates are not yet published; the 2026/27 late deadline was 15 September 2026.
| Programme | Years | Main subject requirement (Matriculation level) |
|---|---|---|
| BSc (Hons) Computing Science | 3 | Advanced Pure Mathematics and one other subject, plus an Intermediate pass |
| BSc IT (Hons) Artificial Intelligence | 3 | Pure Mathematics and Computing at grade C, one Advanced and one at least Intermediate |
| BSc IT (Hons) Software Development | 3 | Two Advanced passes at grade C from a listed set, plus Intermediate Pure Mathematics |
| BSc (Hons) Computer Engineering | 3 | Advanced Pure Mathematics and one other subject, plus Intermediate Physics if not Advanced |
| BEng (Hons) Electrical and Electronic / Mechanical Engineering | 4 | Advanced Pure Mathematics and Physics at grade C |
| BSc (Hons) Built Environment Studies | 3 | Diploma in Design Foundation Studies and Advanced Physics and Mathematics |
| BSc (Hons) Biology | 3 | Advanced Biology and Intermediate Chemistry at grade C |
| BSc (Hons) Chemistry | 3 | Advanced Chemistry and Intermediate Physics or Pure Mathematics at grade C |
| BSc (Hons) Physics | 3 | Physics and Pure Mathematics at grade C, one Advanced and one Intermediate |
| BSc (Hons) Earth Systems | 3 | One Intermediate pass at grade C in a listed science, mathematics, geography or sociology |
Things that catch Irish students out
- Medicine and dental surgery at UM require Maltese proficiency for non-Maltese applicants, unless you hold a SEC Maltese pass at grade 5 or better.
- Irish applicants to UM medicine sit an extra entrance examination.
- Medicine and dental surgery need the H1 passes in Biology and Chemistry obtained together in one sitting from one examining board.
- The UM Built Environment page lists the Diploma in Design Foundation Studies for international applicants.
- Campus Hub is run by a third party, adds a EUR 150 booking fee and is not a university price.
- All UM dates in our data are for the 2026 intake. 2027 dates are not yet published.
FAQ
Are university places in Malta free for Irish students? UM course pages for Pharmaceutical Science and the 10 other bachelors in our database say no fees apply for Local/EU/EEA applicants. The EU/EEA medicine fee could not be retrieved. QMUL Malta medicine costs EUR 39,500 per year.
Does UM accept the Leaving Cert? Yes. UM accepts it as comparable to the Maltese Matriculation Certificate. You need 6 Higher Level passes, including 2 at H2, 2 at H3 and 2 at H6, and passes in a language, a science and a humanistic subject.
What does medicine in Malta require? At UM, H1 in Biology and Chemistry, four more passes at H2 or better, an entrance examination and Maltese proficiency. At QMUL Malta, H1, H1, H2, H2, H2, UCAT and an interview.
Do I need an English test? At UM, an Ordinary Level pass at grade 4 or better in Leaving Cert English may be accepted for medicine and dental surgery. Irish nationals with an Irish secondary certificate may be exempted for the other bachelors. QMUL asks for GCSE English or IELTS 7.0.
When do applications close? QMUL Malta medicine closes 1 March 2027 for September 2027. UM 2027 dates are not published. The 2026 UM bachelor deadline was 22 July, with late applications to 15 September 2026.
Sources
University of Malta: https://www.um.edu.mt/study/admissionsadvice/international/country-specificqualifications/ireland ; https://www.um.edu.mt/study/admissionsadvice/international/englishlanguagerequirements/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/study/admissionsadvice/international/exemptions/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/study/admissionsadvice/international/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/study/feesfunding/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/study/datesdeadlines/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/media/um/docs/about/governance/regulations/course/dentalsurgery/MasterofDentalSurgery.pdf ; https://www.um.edu.mt/international/students/livingcosts
UM course pages: https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/umdft-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschphsft-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschnur9-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschmidi-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschpht-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschoct-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschrdtft-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschpodft-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschslpft-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschabsft-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschbenft-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubengheleft-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschicpeft-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubscitharift-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubscithsdvft-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschicgcft-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschbio-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschche-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschphy-2026-7-o/ ; https://www.um.edu.mt/courses/overview/ubschesyft-2026-7-o/
Campus Hub rates (third-party operator): https://maltauniversityaccommodation.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Student-accommodation-rates-2026-27.pdf
QMUL Malta: https://www.qmul.ac.uk/malta/admissions/entry-requirements/ ; https://www.qmul.ac.uk/malta/admissions/faqs/ ; https://www.qmul.ac.uk/malta/admissions/how-to-apply/ ; https://www.qmul.ac.uk/malta/admissions/costs-/ ; https://www.qmul.ac.uk/undergraduate/coursefinder/courses/2027/medicine-malta-5-year-programme/
MCAST: https://mcast.edu.mt/?p=37110 ; https://mcast.edu.mt/wp-content/plugins/coursesimporter2025/data2025-2026/IAS/AS6-W04-23.pdf ; https://mcast.edu.mt/application-online-ft-mcast-courses
Our database does not cover other Maltese institutions, MD fees for EU students, or housing prices for MCAST and QMUL Malta.
Details can change. Check the official page before you apply.
Courses in our database (0)
No courses match those filters.