Our database has 7 English-taught programmes in Greece: 5 medicine degrees, 1 pharmacy degree and 1 humanities bachelor. They are in Thessaloniki, Athens, Heraklion, Patras and Larissa. Published tuition is EUR 9,000 to EUR 17,000 per year for health programmes. Only one health row is fully verified, so treat the rest as a starting point.
How an Irish student gets in
No Greek university in our data publishes a Leaving Certificate grade rule. Check each programme page (links in Sources). The University of Crete publishes a rule for a national certificate route (80% overall, including Biology plus two other sciences or Mathematics), with no Leaving Cert conversion.
- Aristotle (Thessaloniki) and Thessaly: 60-question online Biology and Chemistry test, then an online interview. IELTS band 6 or TOEFL 79.
- NKUA medicine (Athens): no own test; UCAT or MCAT accepted. Online interview. IELTS 7.5 overall or TOEFL 80.
- Crete: no test; UCAT, MCAT or SAT accepted. Online interview.
- Patras: no written test; interview counts for 30% of the score.
What it costs and when to apply
- Medicine per year: Aristotle, Thessaly and Patras EUR 12,000; Crete EUR 15,000; NKUA EUR 17,000 (2026-2027).
- NKUA pharmacy EUR 9,000 per year. NKUA ancient Greece bachelor EUR 6,000 per year (year not stated).
- University of Patras residence (university price, from a 2023 page): EUR 90 to 130 per month at Sihena, about EUR 5 per day at the main residence. Eligibility of international students is not stated. We have no university housing price for other cities.
Deadlines: Aristotle 2027-2028, cycle 1 runs 9 November 2026 to 29 January 2027 and cycle 2 runs 22 March to 31 May 2027. NKUA medicine's 2026/27 platform closed 30 April 2026; no 2027/28 dates in our data. Crete: early round in November, regular round in March, 2027 dates not stated. Patras and Thessaly: none in our data.
Health courses
| University | Programme | Language | Fee | Deadline | Entrance exam |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aristotle University of Thessaloniki | Medicine (6 yrs) | English | EUR 12,000/yr | 9 Nov 2026-29 Jan 2027 (cycle 1) | Online test, 60 questions |
| NKUA | Medicine, MEDICEN (6 yrs) | English | EUR 17,000/yr (2026-27) | 2026/27: closed 30 Apr 2026 | UCAT or MCAT accepted |
| University of Crete | Medicine, iMED (6 yrs) | English | EUR 15,000/yr | November or March, 2027 not stated | None; UCAT, MCAT or SAT accepted |
| University of Patras | Medicine (6 yrs) | English (Greek courses in years 1-3) | EUR 12,000/yr | Not in data | None; interview |
| University of Thessaly | Medicine (6 yrs) | English | EUR 12,000/yr | Not in data | Online test, 60 questions |
| NKUA | Pharmacy, MPharm (5 yrs) | English | EUR 9,000/yr | Not in data | None |
All rows except Aristotle University are only partly verified.
Other courses
| University | Programme | Language | Fee | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NKUA | BA Archaeology, History and Literature of Ancient Greece (4 yrs) | English | EUR 6,000/yr | 1 Aug (2026/27 cycle) |
Things that catch Irish students out
- Patras asks for diploma and transcript translated into Greek; the others ask for English translations.
- NKUA pharmacy and the ancient Greece bachelor ask for apostilled or certified documents.
- Every medicine programme includes an interview.
FAQ
Is there an entrance exam for medicine in Greece? Aristotle and Thessaly use a 60-question online Biology and Chemistry test. NKUA and Crete accept UCAT or MCAT (Crete also SAT). Patras has no written test.
How much is medicine in Greece? EUR 12,000 per year at Aristotle, Thessaly and Patras, EUR 15,000 at Crete and EUR 17,000 at NKUA for 2026-2027.
Is there an interview? Yes, for all five medicine programmes. Aristotle and Thessaly use online video interviews. At Patras the interview counts for 30% of the score.
What English level do I need? Aristotle and Thessaly: IELTS band 6 or TOEFL 79. Patras and Crete: B2 or TOEFL 79. NKUA medicine: IELTS 7.5 overall or TOEFL 80.
Does Greece publish Leaving Cert grades? Not in our data. Crete publishes an 80% rule for a national certificate route only. Check each programme page.
Sources
Aristotle University of Thessaloniki: https://aristotlemedical.edu.gr/admission-fees ; https://aristotlemedical.edu.gr/apply-now ; https://aristotlemedical.edu.gr/faq ; https://cese.auth.gr/admissions/living-in-thessaloniki
NKUA: https://medicen.uoa.gr/overview/ ; https://medicen.uoa.gr/tuition-fees/ ; https://medicen.uoa.gr/admission-requirements/ ; https://medicen.uoa.gr/faqs/ ; https://mpharmnkua.uoa.gr/overview/ ; https://mpharmnkua.uoa.gr/tuition-fees/ ; https://mpharmnkua.uoa.gr/application-process/ ; https://mpharmnkua.uoa.gr/important-dates/ ; https://baag.uoa.gr/ ; https://baag.uoa.gr/admission-fees/ ; https://baag.uoa.gr/apply-now/
University of Crete: https://imed.med.uoc.gr/ ; https://imed.med.uoc.gr/admissions/ ; https://imed.med.uoc.gr/living-in-crete/
University of Patras: https://meden.upatras.gr/en/study-regulations/ ; https://meden.upatras.gr/en/application/ ; https://studyingreece.edu.gr/english-taught-undergraduate-medical-program-school-of-medicine-university-of-patras/ ; https://www.upatras.gr/en/students/students-care/accommodation/
University of Thessaly: https://medical.edu.gr/admission-fees/ ; https://medical.edu.gr/frequently-asked-questions/
Our database does not cover other Greek universities or fields, or university housing prices outside Patras.
Details can change. Check the official page before you apply.
Courses in our database (0)
No courses match those filters.