Our database has 13 English-taught programmes in Croatia: 7 health and veterinary programmes and 6 other bachelors. The health programmes are in Zagreb, Rijeka and Split. Published tuition for medicine, dentistry, pharmacy and veterinary medicine is EUR 10,000 to EUR 12,000 per year for the 2026/27 call. Most health programmes use an entrance exam or interview. Several rows are only partly verified, and this guide says where.
How an Irish student gets in
None of the universities in our data publishes a Leaving Certificate grade rule. Zagreb's veterinary and pharmacy rows say a grade threshold or Leaving Cert conversion is not stated. Check each programme page, linked in Sources.
- Entrance exams. University of Zagreb School of Medicine sets an online exam of 120 questions (40 each in Biology, Chemistry and Physics). The pass mark is at least 15 correct in each subject and 61 in total. Rijeka dental medicine sets an on-site exam of 120 multiple-choice questions (same split, minimum overall score 30%) plus an online psychomotor test. Zagreb School of Dental Medicine uses a written multiple-choice test (40 questions each in physics, chemistry and biology) plus a psychomotor test.
- Interviews. Split medicine invites applicants who meet the criteria to an online interview. Zagreb pharmacy has an interview in English, in person or online. RIT Croatia has a motivational interview with an essay of at least 400 words.
- No exam. Zagreb veterinary medicine has no entrance test. Subjects: Chemistry, Physics and Biology each taken for at least two years of secondary education.
- English proof. Zagreb School of Medicine asks for TOEFL, IELTS 6 or Duolingo 105 unless you are a native speaker or graduated from an English-speaking secondary school. Zagreb dental asks for IELTS 6.5 or TOEFL 80 if previous education was not in English. Other health rows accept TOEFL, IELTS or B2 level certificates; some waive proof if education was in English.
- Documents. Certified copies of all secondary school years. Zagreb School of Medicine says EU secondary graduates need only notary-certified copies. Rijeka dental asks for a court-interpreter translation if the documents are not in English or Croatian. Rijeka dental and Zagreb medicine accept applications by post only, not email. Zagreb medicine also asks for a medical certificate from a GP and a certified financial statement. RIT Croatia needs recognition of your secondary credentials by the Croatian Agency for Science and Higher Education.
- Portal. Rijeka and Split also ask for registration on postani-student.hr.
What it costs
2026/27 call unless stated.
- Zagreb School of Medicine: EUR 12,000 per year in one payment, or EUR 12,200 in two instalments. Application fee EUR 300.
- Rijeka Faculty of Medicine: EUR 12,000 per year. Exam application EUR 200.
- Split School of Medicine: EUR 12,000 per year. Application fee EUR 200.
- Rijeka dental: EUR 12,000 per year, maximum 12 places. Application fee EUR 250.
- Zagreb School of Dental Medicine: EUR 10,000 per year, or EUR 10,200 in two instalments, plus a EUR 1,000 non-refundable reservation payment.
- Zagreb pharmacy: EUR 10,000 per year.
- Zagreb veterinary: EUR 10,500 per year in full, or EUR 11,000 in two instalments.
- RIT Croatia: 9200 EUR per year for EU citizens for 2027/2028 entry.
- University of Zagreb economics (EFZG): 5000 EUR per academic year plus EUR 66.36 enrolment fee.
- ZSEM: tuition is not readable on the official pages we checked.
Accommodation (Student Centre dormitories, per month). University of Zagreb Student Centre, 2026/27: EUR 71.85 to 170.85 per bed on the non-subsidised list, excluding VAT. The subsidised list is EUR 40 to 139, but places are won in a competitive call. It is not stated whether an Irish full-degree student qualifies for the subsidised list. Split Student Centre, 2025/26 (latest found): non-subsidised single EUR 149.85, double EUR 141.85, triple EUR 101.85, and EUR 70 to 118 subsidised. We found no official student housing price for Rijeka.
Deadlines
- Zagreb School of Medicine, 2026/27 online exams: 12 January, 12 May, 8 June, 6 July and 31 August. Apply at least 15 days before each. 2027/28 call not seen.
- Rijeka Faculty of Medicine, 2026/27: exam applications by 27 April, 29 June and 29 August 2026; final deadline on Postani student 15 July 2026.
- Rijeka dental, 2026/27: 15 June and 21 August 2026, or 30 April 2026 for applicants finishing school abroad before 31 December 2025.
- Split medicine, 2026/27: 1 July 2026. 2027/28 call not seen.
- Zagreb dental, 2026-27: exam applications to 19 April and 23 June 2026. 2027-28 dates not published.
- Zagreb pharmacy, 2026-27: 1 February to 21 June, then 6 July to 4 September if places remain. 2027-28 not published.
- RIT Croatia: rolling; apply before 15 February 2027 to be prioritised for financial aid.
- EFZG: around 10 July each year; exact 2027 date not published.
Health courses
| University | Programme | Language | Fee | Deadline | Entrance exam |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Zagreb School of Medicine | Medicine (6 yrs) | English | EUR 12,000/yr (2026/27) | Online exams Jan-Aug 2026 | Online, 120 questions |
| University of Rijeka Faculty of Medicine | Medicine (6 yrs) | English | EUR 12,000/yr (2026/27) | Exam applications to 29 Aug 2026 | Exam application fee EUR 200; format not in data |
| University of Split School of Medicine | Medicine (6 yrs) | English | EUR 12,000/yr (2026/27) | 1 Jul 2026 | None; online interview |
| University of Rijeka Faculty of Dental Medicine | Dental Medicine (6 yrs) | English | EUR 12,000/yr (2026/27) | 15 Jun and 21 Aug 2026 | On-site, 120 questions, plus psychomotor test |
| University of Zagreb School of Dental Medicine (partly verified) | Dental Medicine (6 yrs) | English | EUR 10,000/yr (2026) | Exam applications to 23 Jun 2026 | Written test plus psychomotor test |
| University of Zagreb Faculty of Pharmacy and Biochemistry (partly verified) | Pharmacy (5 yrs) | English | EUR 10,000/yr | 1 Feb-21 Jun 2026 | None stated; interview |
| University of Zagreb Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (partly verified) | Veterinary Medicine (6 yrs) | English | EUR 10,500/yr (2026-27) | Summer round from 1 Feb 2026 | None |
Other courses
| University | Programme | Language | Fee | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RIT Croatia, Dubrovnik | Hospitality and Tourism Management BS (4 yrs) | English | 9200 EUR/yr (2027/2028) | Rolling |
| RIT Croatia, Zagreb | Global Business Management BS (4 yrs) | English | 9200 EUR/yr (2027/2028) | Rolling |
| RIT Croatia, Zagreb (partly verified) | Web and Mobile Computing BS (4 yrs) | English | 9200 EUR/yr (2027/2028) | Rolling |
| University of Zagreb EFZG (partly verified) | Bachelor Degree in Business (4 yrs) | English | 5000 EUR/yr | About 10 Jul |
| ZSEM (partly verified) | Business Mathematics and Economics (4 yrs) | English | Not readable | 2027 not readable |
| ZSEM (partly verified) | Economics and Management (4 yrs) | English | Not readable | 2027 not readable |
Things that catch Irish students out
- Many Croatian rows list 2026/27 dates only. The 2027/28 call is not published or not seen.
- Zagreb medicine and Rijeka dental accept applications by post only.
- Translations: Rijeka dental asks for a court-interpreter translation if documents are not in English or Croatian.
- Foreign qualifications must be recognised in Croatia. RIT Croatia guides this step.
- Zagreb veterinary requires a Latin certificate before year 2.
- For 2027-28 entry, RIT Croatia replaces the Web and Mobile Computing BS with an Information Technology BS.
- EFZG: recognition of the Irish certificate and the 2027 deadline are not confirmed in our data.
FAQ
Is there an entrance exam for medicine in Croatia? Zagreb sets an online exam of 120 questions in Biology, Chemistry and Physics. Split invites applicants to an online interview. Rijeka charges EUR 200 to apply for its exam, but our data does not describe its format.
How much does medicine cost? Zagreb, Rijeka and Split all publish EUR 12,000 per year for the 2026/27 call. Zagreb offers two instalments of EUR 6,100, totalling EUR 12,200.
Do I need a Leaving Cert grade? No Croatian university in our data publishes a Leaving Cert grade rule. Rijeka dental weights secondary school grades at 20% of its ranking score.
Can I apply by email? Not always. Rijeka dental and Zagreb medicine accept applications by post or in person, not email or fax. Split asks for documents by email to its student office, plus the Postani student portal.
What does student housing cost? University of Zagreb Student Centre beds are EUR 71.85 to 170.85 per month non-subsidised and EUR 40 to 139 subsidised (2026/27, excluding VAT). Split is EUR 101.85 to 149.85 non-subsidised (2025/26).
Sources
University of Zagreb School of Medicine: https://mse.mef.unizg.hr/admission/call-for-applications/ ; https://mse.mef.unizg.hr/admission/admission-requirements/ ; https://mse.mef.unizg.hr/admission/application-procedure/ ; https://mse.mef.unizg.hr/admission/entrance-exam/ ; https://mse.mef.unizg.hr/admission/high-secondary-school-diploma-recognition/
University of Zagreb (other faculties): https://www.sfzg.unizg.hr/en/enrollments/study_in_english ; https://www.sfzg.unizg.hr/en/enrollments/what_do_i_need_to_enroll ; https://www.sfzg.unizg.hr/en/enrollments ; https://www.pharma.unizg.hr/pharmacy-program-in-english-2099/2099 ; https://mpharm.pharma.hr/application/ ; https://www.vef.unizg.hr/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/call_for_application.docx ; https://www.efzg.unizg.hr/study-programmes-and-enrolment/study-programmes-38329/english-taught-study-programmes/undergraduate-study-programmes/bachelor-degree-in-business-10661/10661 ; https://www.efzg.unizg.hr/application-process/35544
University of Zagreb Student Centre: https://www.sczg.unizg.hr/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/Cjenik-nesubvencionirani-smjestaj-2026_27-novi-cjenik.pdf ; https://www.sczg.unizg.hr/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/Cjenik-subvencionirani-smjestaj-2026_27-novi-cjenik.pdf
University of Rijeka: https://fdmri.uniri.hr/wp-content/uploads/2026/02/Call_for_Applications-2026-2027.pdf ; https://fdmri.uniri.hr/upute-za-upis-u-1-godinu-studija-dentalna-medicina/ ; https://medical-studies-in-english.com/ ; https://medical-studies-in-english.com/admission/call-for-applications/
University of Split: https://mefst.unist.hr/default.aspx?id=13242 ; https://neuron.mefst.hr/docs/medicina/medicine_engl/2024_25/2026_Public_Call%20%28EN%29.pdf?vel=142337 ; https://www.scst.unist.hr/images/documents/2166/Cjenik_studenti_01.10.2025.pdf
RIT Croatia: https://www.rit.edu/croatia/tuition-fees ; https://www.rit.edu/croatia/ways-apply ; https://www.rit.edu/croatia/hospitality-and-tourism-management-bs ; https://www.rit.edu/croatia/web-and-mobile-computing-bs ; https://www.rit.edu/croatia/global-business-management-ib-bs
ZSEM: https://zsem.hr/en/admissions/undergraduate/entrance-exam/ ; https://zsem.hr/en/programs/undergraduate/business-mathematics-and-economics/ ; https://zsem.hr/en/programs/undergraduate/economics-and-management/
Our database does not cover other Croatian universities, Rijeka student housing prices, or 2027/28 dates for most programmes.
Details can change. Check the official page before you apply.
Courses in our database (0)
No courses match those filters.